Member Assembler Additional Settings

There are many features of the Member Assembler that we have created to make things easier for you. Log in to the Control Panel and read on about the following Additional Settings:

  Display Settings
  Membership Agreement
  Pickup Reminders

Display Settings

While setting up the Member Assembler Membership Sign-up pages, you may notice that the default page titles and descriptions may not fit your program accurately. To change titles or the language used to describe your membership program navigate to:

   Member Assembler > Configure > Display Settings

Each page of the Membership Sign-up process will have a text box for the page title and a text editor for the page description. See below:

Screenshot_2014-06-17_12.15.53.png    Figure 1. Member Assembler Display Settings

For more information on how to use the text editor tool, read the "Using a Rich Text Editor" article.

This is also where you can disable the public sign-up area of the Member Assembler. Disabling sign-up means that no more customers will be to sign up for membership through your website. Type a note into the text editor if you want a helpful message to be shown to the user explaining why sign-up has been suspended or closed.

Other options on this page allow you to further customize your Membership Sign-up. Here you can choose to disable the "second choice" option for pickups. If you have an Ecommerce store you can choose to combine your members' membership balance with their store balance.

The last section, entitled "Returning Members," has a few options you can choose to change as well. If you would like to restrict your CSA or membership program to only returning members, check to box that says "Returning Members Only." The Membership Sign-up will recognize the email address of your returning membesr and allow them to sign up quicker because you already have all their contact information. You can choose to send returning members an email, which requests that they confirm their identity by clicking on a link in the email, for an added level of security during the sign up process.

Don't forget to click Submit Changes when you are done!

Membership Agreement

You can choose to include a Membership Agreement with Terms & Conditions for your members to agree to during the Membership Sign-up process. This is a good opportunity to inform or remind your customers of important information. Here are some examples of things you might include in your Membership Agreement:

  -Notification of cancellation fees
  -Commitment to pay amount owed
  -Details on pickup failure
  -Disclaimer about general farming risks (weather, pests, natural disasters)
  -Reminder about inclusion in your email/mailing list

To write your Membership Agreement navigate to:

   Member Assembler > Configure > Membership Agreement

A Model CSA Member Agreement is available for free from the non-profit FarmCommons, which specializes in legal issues for farmers:
http://farmcommons.org/resources/model-csa-member-agreement

Click the checkbox to add a Membership Agreement to your sign-up process. Don't forget to fill out your Terms & Conditions in the text editor and click Submit Changes when you are done. See below for the Membership Agreement page:

Member_Agreement_640sharp2.PNG
   Figure 2. Membership Agreement Page.

Pickup Reminders

Member Assembler can automatically send your customers weekly pickup reminders via email so that they don't forget to go get their share. The reminders can be customized so you can add in other information like letting them know of changes or informing them of extras for sale that week in your store. To set up the reminders, navigate to:

   Member Assembler > Configure > Pickup Reminders

The Pickup Reminders page will look like this:

Reminder_Emails_640sharp2.PNG
   *Figure 3. Pickup Reminders Page

Simply click the Enable button next to the locations that you wish send Reminder Emails. Those members that chose that pickup location will receive a Reminder Email at 9pm EST (6pm PST) the night before each pickup. You will receive a confirmation email when each reminder email is sent.

A standard email has already been composed with the proper formatting to include the member's name, pickup location, pickup date and times, and other important information. Click the Preview button to see the email that will be sent and the Edit button to add or change the email's content. If you want change the information in the Reminder Email only once, us the Override button instead. Editing in "Override" means that the newly composed email will only be sent out once and your original Reminder Email information will be retained.

If you wish to disable your pickup reminders, click the "Disable All" link above the chart or the Disable button next to each location. Locations with their reminder email disabled will be highlighted in pink. You can also restrict your reminder emails to only certain members with this tool. Just click on the "Restrict" link above the pickup chart, choose the season and then select which Member (Share) Type you would like to receive reminder emails. This is helpful if you are offering sign-up for Membership Types that don't start until later. This way, members won't get pick-up reminders before there share term has begun.

Ready to move on? Read another article below: